0 Replies Latest reply on Mar 2, 2005 2:52 PM by allianteai

Fix for a JNDI error I had with deploying examples

allianteai

Hi-- first post to this forum, hope everyone is well. I'm a noob, so bear with me.

So, for the past couple of days I've been having a tough time installing JBoss 4.0 and going through the examples (JBoss tutorial V3, Sun tutorial V4). But I figured out the problem, and I'd like to share it with everyone.

When I installed JBoss from scratch (onto a Windows 2000 machine) into a default directory ("C:\jboss-4.0.1sp1") and simply started it up, it would not boot up correctly. Error I would get was something like

2005-03-02 13:10:12,124 ERROR [org.jboss.naming.NamingService] Could not start on port 1099
      java.net.BindException: Address already in use: JVM_Bind

On my machine, apparently some other app is using the 1099 port, therefore blocking the JNDI Naming Service from properly operating. So using a fix I found in other posts on this forum, in the {JBOSS_HOME}\jboss-4.0.1sp1\server\{configuration}\conf directory, edited jboss-service.xml

<mbean code="org.jboss.naming.NamingService"
       name="jboss:service=Naming"
       xmbean-dd="resource:xmdesc/NamingService-xmbean.xml">
       <!-- The call by value mode. true if all lookups are unmarshalled using
       the caller's TCL, false if in VM lookups return the value by reference.
       -->
       <attribute name="CallByValue">false</attribute>
       <!-- The listening port for the bootstrap JNP service. Set this to -1
       to run the NamingService without the JNP invoker listening port.
       -->
       <!--<attribute name="Port">1099</attribute> this is the original, my modified below-->
       <attribute name="Port">2099</attribute>