10 Replies Latest reply on Apr 9, 2007 12:14 PM by Robert Pike

    Truly at starting point

    Robert Pike Newbie

      Could someone please outline the initial steps needed to install JBoss? I've been fooling around with it and I'm really not sure if anything I've done thus far is right. Any help would be appreciated. I need to know how/where/etc.., is needed for the server VM to get installed (where to put it, etc..,) and all initial steps needed for JBoss (especially directory locations, setting of parms, etc..,). I would really appreciate the help.

      AG

      Running Windows XP Prof.

        • 1. Re: Truly at starting point
          Peter Johnson Master

          1) Download and install JDK 5 from http://java.sun.com/javase/downloads/index_jdk5.jsp (Get only the JDK 5.0 Update 11, not JavaEE, not NetBeans)

          2) Install the JDK, but don't let it install in Program Files unless you like tracking down weird bugs. Mine is at d:\apps\jdk1.5.0_11.

          3) Download the JBoss AS 4.0.5 zip file from http://labs.jboss.com/portal/jbossas/download. Click on the Download button next to 4.0.5.

          4) Unzip the file file. I unzipped mine into f:\jboss and got f:\jboss\jboss-4.0.5.GA.

          5) Run the app server from the bin directory. On my system, I opened a command propmt, cd'ed to f:\jboss\jboss-4.0.5.GA\bin, and then entered: run

          6) Wait until you see a message similar to:

          11:20:43,812 INFO [ServerImpl] JBoss ... Started in 1m:29s:663ms

          7) Open a browser, enter the url: http://localhost:8080. You should then see the home page.


          • 2. Re: Truly at starting point
            Robert Pike Newbie

            How do I avoid installing into Program Files? I don't recall it even prompting me on the destination. Thanks so much for the help.

            AF

            • 4. Re: Truly at starting point
              Robert Pike Newbie

              Peter,
              One quick thing: after it says Started in... it just stalls there. Should this happen like this? I tried the localhost and the page does come up but what about after that line?

              15:51:50,781 INFO [ChannelSocket] JK: ajp13 listening on /0.0.0.0:8009
              15:51:50,875 INFO [JkMain] Jk running ID=0 time=0/125 config=null
              15:51:51,031 INFO [Server] JBoss (MX MicroKernel) [4.0.5.GA (build: CVSTag=Bran
              ch_4_0 date=200610162339)] Started in 1m:19s:797ms

              ....then it stalls here. Thanks so much for the help getting here. It may have worked before (at some point) but your additional advice was much appreciated.

              AF

              • 5. Re: Truly at starting point
                Peter Johnson Master

                It does not stall. After the very verbose startup set of messages, you will not see that many more messages unless you do something such as deploy an application. The console messages are logging output set at INFO level. A more detailed clog can be found at server/default/log/server.log, which contains messages at the DEBUG level.

                • 6. Re: Truly at starting point
                  Robert Pike Newbie

                  Hi Peter,
                  If I double click or run the run.bat file the Started in <whatever time> line comes up and stays there. Last time I tried it (15-20 minutes ago) run.bat hasn't put anything out to the terminal since or finished. I expected to run the run.bat, the bunch of messages to appear, and then finally say started server and then go back to the command prompt. Is this not the case? Do you happen to have a good link on how to start the server as a service instead? Thanks so much for the help again.

                  AF

                  • 7. Re: Truly at starting point
                    Peter Johnson Master

                    No, it does not go back to the command prompt. The console window stays open until the server terminates. Occasionally, more logging output will show up.

                    TO start the server as a service, see http://wiki.jboss.org/wiki/Wiki.jsp?page=RunJBossAsAServiceOnWindows.

                    • 8. Re: Truly at starting point
                      Robert Pike Newbie

                      Peter,
                      Thanks so much for the info, appreciate it. Everything worked fine. One question though: in the syntax statements for JavaService it gives hotspot|server|classic as options. Right now I have a client and server directory underneath the jre/bin directory and server I believe is being used. When I start up JBoss manually (command line) it said VM is Server Hotspot or something similar to that. Just trying to understand fully the settings here: is classic actually client, server being server, and hotspot another VM or is hotspot in this case a synonym for server? I wanted to set up JBoss with the most appropraite settings which are (I'm assuming server hotspot). Again thank you for your help.

                      AF

                      • 9. Re: Truly at starting point
                        Peter Johnson Master

                        Actually, HotSpot is the brand name of the JVM (it is a trademark of Sun).

                        To understand the JVM options, open the java_home/jre/lib/i386/jvm.cfg file. It lists the various options that are valid. You will note there that 'hotspot' equates to 'client'. Ultimately, these option decide which directory under java_home/bin will be used to load the jvm.dll.

                        Usually, with application servers, you want to choose the server option. But, performance testing with your application is the ultimate gauge as to which one to choose.

                        • 10. Re: Truly at starting point
                          Robert Pike Newbie

                          Really? lol. I thought there was client, server, and a hotspot for each. Nice to know this. Thanks again.

                          AF