1 2 Previous Next 18 Replies Latest reply on Sep 22, 2007 5:03 PM by pmuir

access the entityManager in a converter (seam 2 beta)

adrien.loyat

Hello
      In seam 1.3 alpha, I use the entityManager in a converter (in getAsObject) like this :

public Object getAsObject(FacesContext arg0, UIComponent arg1, String arg2) {
       if (StringUtils.isEmpty(arg2)){ return null;}
       log.info("getAsObject avec arguement #0", arg2);

TypecolList typecolList = (TypecolList) Component.getInstance("typecolList");
       if (typecolList == null ) {
       log.info("typecolList est null");
       return null;
       }
       EntityManager em = typecolList.getEntityManager();
       Typecol typecol = em.find(Typecol.class, Integer.parseInt(arg2) );

return typecol;
       }

I am a newbie and I know this code is not clean.

With seam 2 beta, It raises an exception: EntityManager is closed.

So my question is : how can I access to my entities without using the EntityManeager ? or How can I have access to the entity Manager ?

Best Regards
      Adrien

• 1. Re: access the entityManager in a converter (seam 2 beta)
          dajevtic

I am not sure if this is the best way. It would probably be better to use the seam entity converter, but here goes:

InitialContext ctx = new InitialContext();
           String jndiEntityManagerFactory = "factoryDefinedInComponentsXml";
           EntityManagerFactory factory = (EntityManagerFactory) ctx
           .lookup(jndiEntityManagerFactory);
           EntityManager entityManager = factory.createEntityManager();

Hope, it helps!

• 2. Re: access the entityManager in a converter (seam 2 beta)
            adrien.loyat

Ousp

The exception is not in my converter. It is the <s:convertEntity /> in my xhtml page that raises it !

• 3. Re: access the entityManager in a converter (seam 2 beta)
              pmuir

Easiest way is to use a Seam component

@Name("myConverter") @BypassInterceptors @Converter