2 Replies Latest reply on Oct 19, 2010 4:47 AM by meltedmetal

Question: How to integrate horizontal shards

meltedmetal

Dear all,

I  am using Teiid 7.1 to implement a module of our project. I struggle the  problem several days. I am very appreciative of your help and hints.

This is my first time to issue a discussion. It is a little long, please give me some patient. Thank you.

• Description of the problem
        A Teiid virtual database named ‘DFS’ includes all the data of the  system. (The virtual database is implemented by other module.) Another  virtual database named ‘workspace’ is needed to implement by me. The  ‘workspace’ VDB provides a part of ‘DFS’ data and an oracle database  named ‘localdb’ used to store the inserted/modified data. The oracle  database and the ‘DFS’ VDB      have same schema. All operations of  inserting / updating / deleting are only permitted on ‘localdb’  database. And another oracle database named ‘provision’ stores the  references (primary keys) to the records of ‘DFS’ VDB. The references  are used to filter out the part records that are visible to the users of  ‘workspace’ VDB.

Maybe some unclear. In one words, there are 4 datasource:
        • ‘DFS’ --- VDB, includes all data.
        • ‘Provision’ --- oracle database, used to get part of data stored in ‘DFS’. We can treat ‘DFS’+’provision’ as ‘DFS’ for simplify.
        • ‘Localdb’ --- oracle database, has same schema with ‘DFS’, used to store the inserted/modified data.
        • ‘Workspace’ --- VDB, is exposed to users, has 3 underneath datasource ‘DFS’+ ‘provision’ and ‘localdb’.

So  I think it is an integration of horizontal shards. I have thought out  two solutions, but I encountered problems in both solutions.

• Solution 1: