1 2 3 Previous Next 32 Replies Latest reply on Jan 20, 2011 11:45 AM by Rajesh Kumar

    Localhost not working even when my jboss server is up

    Rajesh Kumar Newbie

      Hi ,

       

          I am using jboss4.0.5 .. My server is getting started without any errors. But when i give http://localhost:8080 i get the followin error.

       

      13:07:40,008 INFO  [Server] JBoss (MX MicroKernel) [4.0.5.GA (build: CVSTag=Branch_4_0 date=200610162339)] Started in 8s:939ms

      13:08:31,082 ERROR [PoolTcpEndpoint] Endpoint ServerSocket[addr=/0.0.0.0,port=0,localport=8080] ignored exception: java.net.SocketException: select failed

      java.net.SocketException: select failed

              at java.net.PlainSocketImpl.socketAccept(Native Method)

              at java.net.PlainSocketImpl.accept(PlainSocketImpl.java:390)

              at java.net.ServerSocket.implAccept(ServerSocket.java:453)

              at java.net.ServerSocket.accept(ServerSocket.java:421)

              at org.apache.tomcat.util.net.DefaultServerSocketFactory.acceptSocket(DefaultServerSocketFactory.java:60)

              at org.apache.tomcat.util.net.PoolTcpEndpoint.acceptSocket(PoolTcpEndpoint.java:407)

              at org.apache.tomcat.util.net.PoolTcpEndpoint.run(PoolTcpEndpoint.java:647)

              at java.lang.Thread.run(Thread.java:619)

      13:08:31,098 WARN  [PoolTcpEndpoint] Reinitializing ServerSocket

       

      What is the change i have to do ???

      PLEASE HELP ME

       

      I have attached my server.log file also.

       

      router_settings.jpg

       

      This is my router settings. Is this a pbm for me ????

        • 2. Localhost not working even when my jboss server is up
          Rajesh Kumar Newbie

          Hi Karlsson,

           

                 I tried  http://127.0.0.1:8080 . It also does'nt work for me.

           

          And already my TCP/IP v6 is not installed.


          So what's the problem in my jboss???

          • 3. Localhost not working even when my jboss server is up
            Nicklas Karlsson Master

            I'm 98% sure it's not your tomcat, that low-level communication error usually comes from the host tcp/ip stack or setup.

            • 4. Re: Localhost not working even when my jboss server is up
              Peter Johnson Master

              A post I saw elsewhere said that they solved it by turning off IPv6

               

              Have you made any changes your hosts file? If so, post that.

               

              What OS are you running?

               

              BTW - your router setting have nothing whatsoever to do with this - locahost (and 127.0.0.1) accesses are done entierly within the network stack - nothing ever goes to the router.

              • 5. Localhost not working even when my jboss server is up
                Rajesh Kumar Newbie

                I have added only my system name to the hosts file.

                 

                My hosts file contains only the following lines

                 

                127.0.0.1       localhost

                ::1                 localhost

                Admin-PC      localhost

                 

                Admin-PC is my system name. I am using windows 7 OS. As i said earlier my TCP/IPv6 is not installed itself.

                 

                And one more thing I found today. I switched off my modem and tried to access localhost after starting my jboss server. It displays as web page not found.

                 

                But usually when I access localhost after starting  my jboss server when my modem is switched on, browser will not show any error messages like this. The browser will be keep on loading.

                • 6. Localhost not working even when my jboss server is up
                  Peter Johnson Master

                  Remove the last line from the hosts file - it is using the wrong format and could be causing the problem. Proper format is:

                   

                  <ip-address><whitespace><hostnames>

                   

                  For example, if your IP address is 192.168.1.100, then the line should read:

                   

                  192.168.1.100  Admin-PC

                   

                  And actually, Windows 7 should be filling in those three lines for you (the two localhost entries and your PC's IP address) and you should be using this file only for entering hosts that Windows can't seem to find using DNS.

                  • 7. Localhost not working even when my jboss server is up
                    Rajesh Kumar Newbie

                    Hi Peter,

                     

                        I removed that last line in my hosts file. But still the same error coming for me. What's the correct solution for this problem? Help me please.......

                    • 8. Localhost not working even when my jboss server is up
                      Peter Johnson Master

                      Post the results of running "ipconfig /all"

                      • 9. Localhost not working even when my jboss server is up
                        Rajesh Kumar Newbie

                        D:\Users\Admin>ipconfig /all

                         

                        Windows IP Configuration

                         

                           Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : Admin-PC

                           Primary Dns Suffix  . . . . . . . :

                           Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Hybrid

                           IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No

                           WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No

                         

                        Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

                         

                           Connection-specific DNS Suffix  . :

                           Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Realtek RTL8168D/8111D Family PCI-E Gigabit Ethernet NIC (NDIS 6.20)

                           Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-1C-C0-F0-71-27

                           DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No

                           Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

                           IPv4 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.10(Preferred)

                           Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0

                           Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1

                           DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 8.8.8.8

                                                               8.8.4.4

                           NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Enabled

                         

                        Tunnel adapter isatap.{FD7D85EC-F24C-4DB6-B171-2EF655E6F2A6}:

                         

                           Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected

                           Connection-specific DNS Suffix  . :

                           Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft ISATAP Adapter

                           Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0

                           DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No

                           Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

                         

                        Tunnel adapter Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface:

                         

                           Connection-specific DNS Suffix  . :

                           Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface

                           Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0

                           DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No

                           Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

                           IPv6 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 2001:0:4137:9e76:bc:3c3a:c4a3:834d(Preferred)

                           Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::bc:3c3a:c4a3:834d%12(Preferred)

                           Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : ::

                           NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Disabled

                         

                        D:\Users\Admin>

                         

                        Above is my result in windows 7.

                         

                         

                        Below is my result in windows xp

                         

                        C:\Documents and Settings\Rajesh>ipconfig /all

                         

                        Windows IP Configuration

                         

                                Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : home-67f1d4c781

                                Primary Dns Suffix  . . . . . . . :

                                Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Unknown

                                IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No

                                WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No

                         

                        Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

                         

                                Connection-specific DNS Suffix  . :

                                Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Realtek RTL8168D(P)/8111D(P) PCI-E Gigabit Ethernet NIC

                                Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-1C-C0-F0-71-27

                                Dhcp Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No

                                IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.100

                                Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0

                                Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1

                                DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 218.248.240.181

                                                                    218.248.240.180

                         

                        C:\Documents and Settings\Rajesh>

                         

                         

                        JBOSS is working fine for me in windows xp. Problem exist only in windows 7.

                        • 10. Re: Localhost not working even when my jboss server is up
                          Peter Johnson Master

                          Looking at your ipconfig output it doesn't look that much different from mine (I am using DHCP, and I have IPv6 enabled so I also have an IPv6 address). I am running Win 7.

                           

                          Which version of the JVM are you using? You can find out by entering "java -version" and "%JAVA_HOME%\bin\java.exe -version". Do both and post the results. (It could be that you are using an older version of the JVM that is not compatible with Win7).

                           

                          Also try this. Start the app server using:

                           

                          run -b 192.168.1.10

                           

                          If it starts succeffully, then access the home page via http://192.168.1.10:8080

                          • 11. Localhost not working even when my jboss server is up
                            Rajesh Kumar Newbie

                            D:\Users\Admin>java -version

                            java version "1.6.0_20"

                            Java(TM) SE Runtime Environment (build 1.6.0_20-b02)

                            Java HotSpot(TM) Client VM (build 16.3-b01, mixed mode, sharing)

                             

                            D:\Users\Admin>echo %JAVA_HOME%\bin\java.exe

                            D:\Program Files\Java\jdk1.6.0_20\bin\java.exe

                             

                            run -b 192.168.1.10

                            It started the server successfully. But when i tried http://192.168.1.10:8080 the browser keep on loading and there is no error message in my server.

                             

                            Moreover i am using the same JAVA_HOME and JBOSS_HOME for both windows xp and windows 7.

                             

                            So I think, as Nicklas Karlsson said earlier it is not a problem in my server, but some configuration should be missing in windows 7.

                             

                            Additional Info.

                             

                            I tried a RMI program. And i exactly the same error in my RMI Registry other than the prot number.(I used 8888 in RMI)

                             

                            This is the error message in that.

                             

                            11 Jan, 2011 8:49:44 PM sun.rmi.transport.tcp.TCPTransport$AcceptLoop executeAcceptLoop
                            WARNING: RMI TCP Accept-8888: accept loop for ServerSocket[addr=0.0.0.0/0.0.0.0,port=0,localport=8888] throws
                            java.net.SocketException: select failed
                                     at java.net.PlainSocketImpl.socketAccept(Native Method)
                                     at java.net.PlainSocketImpl.accept(PlainSocketImpl.java:390)
                                     at java.net.ServerSocket.implAccept(ServerSocket.java:453)
                                     at java.net.ServerSocket.accept(ServerSocket.java:421)
                                     at sun.rmi.transport.tcp.TCPTransport$AcceptLoop.executeAcceptLoop(TCPTransport.java:369)
                                     at sun.rmi.transport.tcp.TCPTransport$AcceptLoop.run(TCPTransport.java:341)
                                     at java.lang.Thread.run(Thread.java:619)

                             

                             

                            This also runs fine in windows xp.

                            • 12. Localhost not working even when my jboss server is up
                              Nicklas Karlsson Master

                              Are you sure you don't have any anti-virus software or anything else preventing you from creating servers on your machine? Tried portscanning your machine before and after starting the AS?

                              • 13. Localhost not working even when my jboss server is up
                                Nicklas Karlsson Master

                                e.g. do you recall denying java.exe any überprivileges it requested the first time it ran?

                                • 14. Localhost not working even when my jboss server is up
                                  Rajesh Kumar Newbie

                                  I am sure that I dont have any software that will block from creating servers on my machine. Even my firewall is not turned on.

                                  1 2 3 Previous Next