1 2 Previous Next 15 Replies Latest reply on Jan 4, 2012 2:37 AM by jaikiran pai

    First install ever - having that logmanager problem on Fedora 15

    Carilda Thomas Newbie

      Running on Fedora 15, JBOSS_HOME is defined. Have jboss-as-7.1.0.Beta1b. Executing standalone.sh from the bin directory - these were all suggestions in a different thread but it seemed like all of those were Windows users. Another suggestion was to not have spaces in folder names - hey, I have directories, not folders - spaces are anathema!

       

      Is there something I should be doing in the configuration files?

       

      Should I blow this away and get a stable version?

       

      Please help. TIA.

        • 1. Re: First install ever - having that logmanager problem on Fedora 15
          jaikiran pai Master

          Don't set JBOSS_HOME. The scripts will do it themselves correctly. If that doesn't solve the issue, then please post the entire command and stacktrace.

          • 2. Re: First install ever - having that logmanager problem on Fedora 15
            Carilda Thomas Newbie

            Thanks jaikiran. I unset JBOSS_HOME and got the same results: (BTW, I'm not a programming newbie, just new to Java and Jboss.)

             

            ./standalone.sh

            =========================================================================

             

             

              JBoss Bootstrap Environment

             

             

              JBOSS_HOME: /usr/local/jboss-as-7.1.0.Beta1b

             

             

              JAVA: java

             

             

              JAVA_OPTS: -server -Xms64m -Xmx512m -XX:MaxPermSize=256m -Djava.net.preferIPv4Stack=true -Dorg.jboss.resolver.warning=true -Dsun.rmi.dgc.client.gcInterval=3600000 -Dsun.rmi.dgc.server.gcInterval=3600000 -Djboss.modules.system.pkgs=org.jboss.byteman -Djava.awt.headless=true

             

             

            Exception in thread "main" org.jboss.modules.ModuleNotFoundException: Module org.jboss.logmanager:main is not found in local module loader @bfea1d (roots: /usr/share/Modules/modulefiles,/etc/modulefiles)

                      at org.jboss.modules.LocalModuleLoader.findModule(LocalModuleLoader.java:126)

                      at org.jboss.modules.ModuleLoader.loadModuleLocal(ModuleLoader.java:265)

                      at org.jboss.modules.ModuleLoader.preloadModule(ModuleLoader.java:212)

                      at org.jboss.modules.LocalModuleLoader.preloadModule(LocalModuleLoader.java:94)

                      at org.jboss.modules.ModuleLoader.loadModule(ModuleLoader.java:194)

                      at org.jboss.modules.Main.main(Main.java:264)

             

            Is this a sufficient trace or is there an option to get a better one?

             

            c

            • 3. Re: First install ever - having that logmanager problem on Fedora 15
              jaikiran pai Master

              Carilda Thomas wrote:

               

               

                JAVA: java

              Looks like you haven't set the JAVA_HOME to point to the JDK/JRE installation. Can you do that? Once you set that, please post the new output and the stacktrace. I want to rule out the obvious issues first because seeing what's wrong.

              • 4. Re: First install ever - having that logmanager problem on Fedora 15
                Carilda Thomas Newbie

                OK, which java returns /usr/bin/java so I set JAVA_HOME to /usr - same error message

                Then I went to /etc/alternatives and set JAVA_HOME to /usr/lib/jvm/jre-1.6.0-openjdk - same error message

                 

                What can I try next?

                (Thanks)

                c

                • 5. Re: First install ever - having that logmanager problem on Fedora 15
                  jaikiran pai Master

                  Carilda Thomas wrote:

                   

                   

                  Then I went to /etc/alternatives and set JAVA_HOME to /usr/lib/jvm/jre-1.6.0-openjdk - same error message

                   

                  Please post the output and entire stacktrace (like you did the last time) after you set the JAVA_HOME.

                  • 6. Re: First install ever - having that logmanager problem on Fedora 15
                    Carilda Thomas Newbie

                    [root@netcat bin]# ls -l /etc/alternatives/java

                    lrwxrwxrwx. 1 root root 39 Oct 20 15:35 /etc/alternatives/java -> /usr/lib/jvm/jre-1.6.0-openjdk/bin/java

                    [root@netcat bin]# export JAVA_HOME=/usr/lib/jvm/jre-1.6.0-openjdk

                    [root@netcat bin]# pwd

                    /usr/local/jboss-as-7.1.0.Beta1b/bin

                    [root@netcat bin]# ./standalone.sh

                    =========================================================================

                     

                     

                      JBoss Bootstrap Environment

                     

                     

                      JBOSS_HOME: /usr/local/jboss-as-7.1.0.Beta1b

                     

                     

                      JAVA: /usr/lib/jvm/jre-1.6.0-openjdk/bin/java

                     

                     

                      JAVA_OPTS: -server -Xms64m -Xmx512m -XX:MaxPermSize=256m -Djava.net.preferIPv4Stack=true -Dorg.jboss.resolver.warning=true -Dsun.rmi.dgc.client.gcInterval=3600000 -Dsun.rmi.dgc.server.gcInterval=3600000 -Djboss.modules.system.pkgs=org.jboss.byteman -Djava.awt.headless=true

                     

                     

                    =========================================================================

                     

                     

                    Exception in thread "main" org.jboss.modules.ModuleNotFoundException: Module org.jboss.logmanager:main is not found in local module loader @bfea1d (roots: /usr/share/Modules/modulefiles,/etc/modulefiles)

                              at org.jboss.modules.LocalModuleLoader.findModule(LocalModuleLoader.java:126)

                              at org.jboss.modules.ModuleLoader.loadModuleLocal(ModuleLoader.java:265)

                              at org.jboss.modules.ModuleLoader.preloadModule(ModuleLoader.java:212)

                              at org.jboss.modules.LocalModuleLoader.preloadModule(LocalModuleLoader.java:94)

                              at org.jboss.modules.ModuleLoader.loadModule(ModuleLoader.java:194)

                              at org.jboss.modules.Main.main(Main.java:264)

                     

                    I'm running this from $JBOSS_HOME/bin. Doesn't something make it look in $JBOSS_HOME/modules ?

                     

                    [root@netcat bin]# ls ../modules/org/jboss/logmanager

                    log4j  main

                    [root@netcat bin]# ls ../modules/org/jboss/logmanager/main

                    jboss-logmanager-1.2.0.GA.jar  jboss-logmanager-1.2.0.GA.jar.index  module.xml

                     

                    I also checked all the permissions on the path and they are all 755 for the directories and 644 for the jars and modules.xml

                     

                    Thanks - you are very patient and your approach is very much like mine when I'm trying to figure something out so I'm really comfortable with it.

                    c

                    • 7. Re: First install ever - having that logmanager problem on Fedora 15
                      jaikiran pai Master

                      Carilda Thomas wrote:

                       

                      (roots: /usr/share/Modules/modulefiles,/etc/modulefiles)

                      This doesn't look right. Has someone set the MODULEPATH environment variable on that system? If yes, unset it. What do you see when you do:

                       

                      echo $MODULEPATH

                       

                      before starting JBoss?

                      • 8. Re: First install ever - having that logmanager problem on Fedora 15
                        Carilda Thomas Newbie

                        That was it. Now I have a big long output but jboss in running in the terminal. Is there still something wrong? Doesn't it daemonize itself? Should I have run standalone.sh & ?

                         

                        Here's the output now:

                         

                        [root@netcat bin]# ./standalone.sh

                        =========================================================================

                         

                         

                          JBoss Bootstrap Environment

                         

                         

                          JBOSS_HOME: /usr/local/jboss-as-7.1.0.Beta1b

                         

                         

                          JAVA: /usr/lib/jvm/jre-1.6.0-openjdk/bin/java

                         

                         

                          JAVA_OPTS: -server -Xms64m -Xmx512m -XX:MaxPermSize=256m -Djava.net.preferIPv4Stack=true -Dorg.jboss.resolver.warning=true -Dsun.rmi.dgc.client.gcInterval=3600000 -Dsun.rmi.dgc.server.gcInterval=3600000 -Djboss.modules.system.pkgs=org.jboss.byteman -Djava.awt.headless=true

                         

                         

                        =========================================================================

                         

                         

                        06:06:11,719 INFO  [org.jboss.modules] JBoss Modules version 1.1.0.CR4

                        06:06:13,257 INFO  [org.jboss.msc] JBoss MSC version 1.0.1.GA

                        06:06:13,694 INFO  [org.jboss.as] JBoss AS 7.1.0.Beta1b "Tesla" starting

                        06:06:18,857 INFO  [org.xnio] XNIO Version 3.0.0.CR5

                        06:06:18,965 INFO  [org.jboss.as] Creating http management service using  socket-binding (management-http)

                        06:06:19,051 INFO  [org.xnio.nio] XNIO NIO Implementation Version 3.0.0.CR5

                        06:06:19,121 INFO  [org.jboss.remoting] JBoss Remoting version 3.2.0.CR6

                        06:06:19,284 INFO  [org.jboss.as.logging] JBAS011502: Removing bootstrap log handlers

                        06:06:19,462 INFO  [org.jboss.as.security] (ServerService Thread Pool -- 42) Activating Security Subsystem

                        06:06:19,514 INFO  [org.jboss.as.osgi] (ServerService Thread Pool -- 37) JBAS011910: Activating OSGi Subsystem

                        06:06:19,515 INFO  [org.jboss.as.naming] (ServerService Thread Pool -- 36) JBAS011800: Activating Naming Subsystem

                        06:06:19,612 INFO  [org.jboss.as.clustering] (ServerService Thread Pool -- 29) JBAS010300: Activating Infinispan subsystem.

                        06:06:19,651 INFO  [org.jboss.as.webservices] (ServerService Thread Pool -- 46) JBAS015537: Activating WebServices Extension

                        06:06:20,343 INFO  [org.jboss.as.naming] (MSC service thread 1-2) JBAS011802: Starting Naming Service

                        06:06:20,396 INFO  [org.jboss.as.security] (MSC service thread 1-2) Picketbox version=4.0.6.Beta1

                        06:06:20,817 INFO  [org.jboss.as.remoting] (MSC service thread 1-4) Listening on /127.0.0.1:9999

                        06:06:20,871 INFO  [org.jboss.as.connector.subsystems.datasources] (ServerService Thread Pool -- 25) JBAS010403: Deploying JDBC-compliant driver class org.h2.Driver (version 1.3)

                        06:06:21,001 INFO  [org.jboss.as.mail.extension] (MSC service thread 1-1) JBAS015400: Bound mail session [java:jboss/mail/Default]

                        06:06:21,008 INFO  [org.jboss.as.connector] (MSC service thread 1-4) JBAS010408: Starting JCA Subsystem (JBoss IronJacamar 1.0.5.Final)

                        06:06:21,429 INFO  [org.jboss.as.remoting] (MSC service thread 1-1) Listening on /127.0.0.1:4447

                        06:06:21,618 INFO  [org.apache.catalina.core.AprLifecycleListener] (MSC service thread 1-3) An older version 1.1.20 of the Apache Tomcat Native library is installed, while Tomcat recommends version greater then 1.1.21

                        06:06:22,564 INFO  [org.jboss.ws.common.management.AbstractServerConfig] (MSC service thread 1-4) null null

                        06:06:24,245 INFO  [org.apache.coyote.http11.Http11AprProtocol] (MSC service thread 1-1) Starting Coyote HTTP/1.1 on http--127.0.0.1-8080

                        06:06:25,895 INFO  [org.jboss.as.connector.subsystems.datasources] (MSC service thread 1-1) JBAS010400: Bound data source [java:jboss/datasources/ExampleDS]

                        06:06:25,927 INFO  [org.jboss.as.server.deployment.scanner] (MSC service thread 1-2) JBAS015012: Started FileSystemDeploymentService for directory /usr/local/jboss-as-7.1.0.Beta1b/standalone/deployments

                        06:06:26,015 INFO  [org.jboss.as] (Controller Boot Thread) JBoss AS 7.1.0.Beta1b "Tesla" started in 15281ms - Started 126 of 187 services (60 services are passive or on-demand)

                         

                        and it didn't return to prompt.

                        I checked and the admin console is available on :8080 - is it time for me to return to the documentation and see what to do next or should I kill it and run it in background this time?

                         

                        You are fantastic, BTW!

                        c

                        • 9. Re: First install ever - having that logmanager problem on Fedora 15
                          jaikiran pai Master

                          Good to know it worked! So that was actually a conflict with the MODULEPATH environment variable which the "module" utility in Fedora sets up probably http://www.linuxcertif.com/man/1/module/370976/

                           

                           

                          Carilda Thomas wrote:

                           

                          That was it. Now I have a big long output but jboss in running in the terminal. Is there still something wrong?

                          The logs look good, the server has started without problems.

                           

                           

                          Carilda Thomas wrote:

                           

                           

                          and it didn't return to prompt.

                          Yes, it starts in the foreground. If you want to launch it in background, then you can do:

                           

                          export LAUNCH_JBOSS_IN_BACKGROUND=true
                          ./standalone.sh
                          

                           

                          You'll still see the logs on the console, but you can redirect them to some file if you want to.

                           

                           

                          I checked and the admin console is available on :8080 -

                          The admin console in AS7 is available at http://localhost:9990/console/index.html

                           

                           

                          is it time for me to return to the documentation and see what to do next

                          The "Getting started guide" here https://docs.jboss.org/author/display/AS71/Documentation will help you with the basics.

                          • 10. Re: First install ever - having that logmanager problem on Fedora 15
                            Carilda Thomas Newbie

                            Once again thank you from a little old lady who has been out of work for a year and a half and is trying to learn java because that's what everyone seems to want these days!

                            c

                            • 12. Re: First install ever - having that logmanager problem on Fedora 15
                              Rodrigo Arguello Newbie

                              Hi,

                               

                                 I am also new with Jboss and Java. I have x64AMD machine with Fedora 16. When I try to run the standalon.sh script, I have the same error:

                              JBoss Bootstrap Environment

                               

                              ==================================================================

                                JBOSS_HOME: /opt/jboss-as-7.0.2.Final

                               

                               

                                JAVA: /usr/java/jdk1.7.0_01/bin/java

                               

                               

                                JAVA_OPTS: -server -Xms64m -Xmx512m -XX:MaxPermSize=256m -Djava.net.preferIPv4Stack=true -Dorg.jboss.resolver.warning=true -Dsun.rmi.dgc.client.gcInterval=3600000 -Dsun.rmi.dgc.server.gcInterval=3600000 -Djboss.modules.system.pkgs=org.jboss.byteman -Djava.awt.headless=true

                               

                               

                              =========================================================================

                               

                               

                              Exception in thread "main" org.jboss.modules.ModuleNotFoundException: Module org.jboss.logmanager:main is not found

                                        at org.jboss.modules.LocalModuleLoader.findModule(LocalModuleLoader.java:121)

                                        at org.jboss.modules.ModuleLoader.loadModuleLocal(ModuleLoader.java:245)

                                        at org.jboss.modules.ModuleLoader.preloadModule(ModuleLoader.java:194)

                                        at org.jboss.modules.LocalModuleLoader.preloadModule(LocalModuleLoader.java:97)

                                        at org.jboss.modules.ModuleLoader.loadModule(ModuleLoader.java:176)

                                        at org.jboss.modules.ModuleLoader.loadModule(ModuleLoader.java:172)

                                        at org.jboss.modules.Main.main(Main.java:257)

                              ==============================================================================

                               

                              I saw that this can be fix by unsetting the MODULEPATH environment variable, but I cannot understand how do that.

                               

                              When I type the command:

                               

                              ~echo $MODULEPATH

                               

                              I get:

                              ~ /usr/share/Modules/modulefiles:/etc/modulefiles

                               

                              Thanks in advance!


                              • 13. Re: First install ever - having that logmanager problem on Fedora 15
                                jaikiran pai Master

                                 

                                I saw that this can be fix by unsetting the MODULEPATH environment variable, but I cannot understand how do that.

                                 

                                When I type the command:

                                 

                                ~echo $MODULEPATH

                                 

                                Run the following commands in order:

                                 

                                export MODULEPATH=
                                ./standalone.sh
                                
                                • 14. Re: First install ever - having that logmanager problem on Fedora 15
                                  Rodrigo Arguello Newbie

                                  Jaikiran,

                                   

                                     Thanks a lot....! it's woring know

                                   

                                  Happy Sunday!

                                   

                                  Rodrigo

                                  1 2 Previous Next