1 2 3 Previous Next 63 Replies Latest reply on Nov 13, 2009 2:07 PM by pmuir

It's not about dependency injection

asookazian

http://www.jboss.org/feeds/post/it_s_not_about_dependency_injection

I've had some very recent experience with the front controller pattern (used in Struts and Spring MVC).  And generally speaking, I favor component-based MVC like JSF, Wicket, Tapestry over action-based MVC.

But is 299 more about contexts or DI?  or event notification mechanisms?  or all in equal portions in terms of importance?

B/c it seems to me that it in fact to a certain extent is about DI...

• 1. Re: It's not about dependency injection
          asookazian

And if you are talking about a better Spring, Seam does not even have the equivalent of Spring's JdbcTemplate which is a very useful data access component which makes JDBC much cleaner and easier (i.e. no connection leaks and boilerplate code).  In some cases JPA and/or Hibernate is not a good option for legacy schemas which may be missing foreign keys and not in 3NF, for example.  So JDBC or iBATIS (sql mapping) may be better options.  Of course, we can use Spring modules as integrations in our Seam apps.

People are going to evaluate EE 6 and ask what does this stack offer that we can't currently accomplish with Spring 3 and dm server

• 2. Re: It's not about dependency injection
            gavin.king
            Seam does not even have the equivalent of Spring's JdbcTemplate which is a very useful data access component which makes JDBC much cleaner and easier.

I'm sure you'll find it's trivial to integrate a JDBC framework as a portable extension to CDI. The idea that anyone would choose to adopt the entire Spring application architecture just to get a JDBC framework is absurd.

I'm sure if someone cares enough, they will port the Spring JdbcTemplate stuff to CDI. That's not at all a difficult task.

(It's even completely trivial to integrate iBATIS in Seam.)