1 2 Previous Next 19 Replies Latest reply on Feb 12, 2014 8:50 AM by paolo.compieta

Migration effort & benefits (from 4.2.3 to 7.1.1)

mikemil

I have been pushing our boss to allow us to do a technical upgrade to our product, which is WAY BEHIND:

• JBoss 4.2.3
      • Messaging 1.4.4
      • EJB 2.1 (all SLSB)
      • Hibernate 2.1.2
      • XDoclet 1.2.3 - for generating a pile of file: ejb interfaces, hibernate mappings, ejb deployment scriptors, web.xmls, etc.

My desire is to get to:

• JBoss AS7.1
      • HornetQ (I guess)
      • EJB 3.x
      • Hibernate 3.x
      • XDoclet 1.2.3 - would probably still be around for some of our custom tasks but greatly reduced usage (I hope)

In response to my request, I have been asked to provide some analysis of sizing of the effort and the benefits, and can I provide this is in a couple days!

As a developer, I would love to do this all in one big swipe, but my concern is that might be biting off a bit more than we can chew, especially since we have other releases to work on, along with any customer support issues that may arise.   From what I've read, it sounds like AS7.1 now supports EJB 2.1, so I have been wondering if it might not be better to do the migration from 4.2.3 to 7.1.1 first and then follow that up in our next release with the Hibernate and EJB 3.x upgrades.

Please feel free to share any migration experiences and gotcha's anyone may have encountered!   

Is there any gain by doing an all-at-once migration versus the multiple steps?

Thought?

Thanks in advance!

• 1. Re: Migration effort & benefits (from 4.2.3 to 7.1.1)
          raydecampo

One thing I would note is that JBoss 7 is shipping with Hibernate 4.x so you may as well jump from 2 to 4 as long as you are going to change it.