1 Reply Latest reply on Aug 2, 2012 4:42 AM by sannegrinovero

data modeling with time series data

john.sanda

I have started exploring Infinispan for managing time series data in RHQ. Since I am new to Infinispan, I would love to get some feedback on the following. The data involves various types of metrics. The data is basically a tuple - {schedule_id, timestamp, value}. Collections occur at most every 30 seconds, which means I can have 120 data points per hour. I need to support date range queries. The RHQ agent sends a metrics report to the RHQ server which then persists the data. The report consists of N data points or tuples. The schedule ids in a give metrics report will be unique as well. I have considered some different approaches for how I might store the data in the cache.

Approach 1: Store 1 cache entry per data point

This approach should make storing the data fast and efficient which is important as this is write intensive. This approach does not seem to lend itself well to reads. Assuming for the moment that I know the keys, I could do a separate get() call for each data point which is no good. I am reluctant to use the search module out of concern that the overhead added by the Lucence indexes would degrade write performance. This approach, where I stored the data at a fined-grained level in the cache, may satisfy my requirements for write performance, but I don't think it holds up well for queries.

Approach 2: Store data points in a more coarse-grained data structure