9 Replies Latest reply on Dec 20, 2012 8:27 AM by van.halbert

SQL Bulk Query Tool (BQT)

atzakas

Hi,

I recently started working with Teiid (v7.4) to create and deploy VDBs (using Teiid Designer) and I am currently exploring ways of how to automate the testing of the models.

I am not a developer so please bear with my newbie questions.

Among other things, I would like to be able to perform bulk queries and compare the results against known values.

This could also be used to query the system tables and ensure that the metadata (table names, column names, etc) of the model match with those of the data sources.

So far I have explored the following options:

• AdminShell and Groovy. The benefit of this approach is that AdminShell is part of Teiid (i.e. future support and development) and Groovy Sql is quite easy to get started with..
      • SQL BulkQueryTool (BQT) https://github.com/vhalbert/SQLBulkQueryTool 

With regards to the BQT, I came across this framework and it looked ideal for meeting my requirement of performing bulk queries.

After configuring the .properties/xml files and executing the run script, I get runtime exception errors (FrameworkException, NoClassDefFoundError among others).

It seems to me that the tool is not as easy to use as I was hoping (remember, I am not an experienced Java developer) but, most importantly, it not not clear to me whether this is a community-supported tool.

My questions are:

• Is BQT a community-supported tool and, if so, is there a dedicated forum that I could join?
      • Is there any additional piece of documentation that I could use, apart from the readme file?
      • Has anyone else worked with the BQT before and, if so, what has his experience been with regards to the capabilities of the tool?
      • What is the preferred tool for performing bulk query testing with Teiid?

Many thanks,

Aris

• 1. Re: SQL Bulk Query Tool (BQT)
          van.halbert