1 2 Previous Next 16 Replies Latest reply on Jul 9, 2009 11:40 AM by mazz

    ERROR invoking operation

    De Smet Christophe Newbie

      On RHEL4, jvm 1.5, jopr-server 2.1.0.GA,
      I get the following error when invoking operation (flush) on DS.



      stacktrace :

      2009-02-09 14:07:58,017 ERROR [org.rhq.enterprise.server.operation.ResourceOperationJob] Failed to execute scheduled operation [null]
      javax.ejb.EJBException: java.lang.NumberFormatException: null
      at org.jboss.ejb3.tx.Ejb3TxPolicy.handleExceptionInOurTx(Ejb3TxPolicy.java:63)
      ...
      2009-02-09 14:07:58,022 INFO [org.quartz.core.JobRunShell] Job rhq-resource-501547.rhq-resource-501547-97532676-1234184877827 threw a JobExecutionException:
      org.quartz.JobExecutionException: Failed to execute scheduled operation [null] [See nested exception: javax.ejb.EJBException: java.lang.NumberFormatException: null]
      at org.rhq.enterprise.server.operation.ResourceOperationJob.execute(ResourceOperationJob.java:88)
      at org.quartz.core.JobRunShell.run(JobRunShell.java:203)
      at org.quartz.simpl.SimpleThreadPool$WorkerThread.run(SimpleThreadPool.java:520)
      * Nested Exception (Underlying Cause) ---------------
      javax.ejb.EJBException: java.lang.NumberFormatException: null
      ...

      2009-02-09 14:07:59,453 ERROR [org.apache.catalina.core.ContainerBase.[jboss.web].[localhost].[/].[Faces Servlet]] Servlet.service() for servlet Faces Servlet threw exception
      java.lang.NoClassDefFoundError: org/rhq/enterprise/gui/operation/history/resource/ResourceOperationPendingHistoryUIBean$ListResourceOperationPendingHistoryDataModel

      at java.lang.Class.getDeclaredConstructors0(Native Method)

      ...

      JSP errorpage:

      javax.servlet.ServletException: Servlet execution threw an exception
      org.ajax4jsf.webapp.BaseXMLFilter.doXmlFilter
      (BaseXMLFilter.java:147)
      org.ajax4jsf.webapp.BaseFilter.doFilter(BaseFilter.java:276)
      org.ajax4jsf.Filter.doFilter(Filter.java:175)
      org.rhq.enterprise.gui.legacy.AuthenticationFilter.doFilter(AuthenticationFilter.java:128)
      org.rhq.enterprise.gui.common.upload.MultipartFilter.doFilter(MultipartFilter.java:63)
      org.rhq.helpers.rtfilter.filter.RtFilter.doFilter(RtFilter.java:113)
      org.jboss.web.tomcat.filters.ReplyHeaderFilter.doFilter(ReplyHeaderFilter.java:96)


      root cause

      java.lang.NoClassDefFoundError: org/rhq/enterprise/gui/operation/history/resource/ResourceOperationPendingHistoryUIBean$ListResourceOperationPendingHistoryDataModel
      java.lang.Class.getDeclaredConstructors0(Native Method)
      java.lang.Class.privateGetDeclaredConstructors(Class.java:2357)
      java.lang.Class.getConstructor0(Class.java:2671)
      java.lang.Class.getConstructor(Class.java:1629)
      com.sun.faces.mgbean.BeanBuilder.loadBeanClass(BeanBuilder.java:421)

      ...


        • 1. Re: ERROR invoking operation
          Heiko Rupp Master

          Hello,

          can you please show the output of "java -version" ?

          Jopr needs JDK 1.5 -- gcj will most likely not work. Is this a Sun VM you are using?

          Heiko

          • 2. Re: ERROR invoking operation
            De Smet Christophe Newbie

            Yes it's Sun JVM as you can see...

            java version "1.5.0_11"
            Java(TM) 2 Runtime Environment, Standard Edition (build 1.5.0_11-b03)
            Java HotSpot(TM) Client VM (build 1.5.0_11-b03, mixed mode, sharing)

            • 3. Re: ERROR invoking operation
              De Smet Christophe Newbie

              More :
              Same error when trying to start, stop AS or trying to 'view process list' on platforms ressources...

              Invoking all kind of operations (on any ressources type) give this stacktrace.

              • 4. Re: ERROR invoking operation
                mazz Master

                I think you have a bad build.

                That class exists in my current svn working copy.

                • 5. Re: ERROR invoking operation
                  De Smet Christophe Newbie

                  I re-download the binary package.
                  I re-generate the rhq.ear.

                  When trying to invoke any operation, I do not receive any jsp error-page, but invoked operation doesn't occur and the server log file contains the same stack trace. (see first post).

                  I have checked the class (ResourceOperationPendingHistoryUIBean$ListResourceOperationPendingHistoryDataModel.class) is well into the rhq-portal.war package and it is ok...

                  jopr-server-2.1.0.GA/jbossas/server/default/deploy/rhq.ear/rhq-portal.war/WEB-INF/classes/org/rhq/enterprise/gui/operation/history/resource/ResourceOperationPendingHistoryUIBean$ListResourceOperationPendingHistoryDataModel.class

                  • 6. Re: ERROR invoking operation
                    De Smet Christophe Newbie

                    Oups.
                    Stack trace seems to be the same but there is 1 difference. That is AS doesn't log a missing class any more.
                    It just throws a null NumberFormatException...

                    09:11:36,913 INFO [JobRunShell] Job rhq-resource-500677.rhq-resource-500677-97532676-1234253496736 threw a JobExecutionException:
                    org.quartz.JobExecutionException: Failed to execute scheduled operation [null] [See nested exception: javax.ejb.EJBException: java.lang.NumberFormatException: null]
                    at org.rhq.enterprise.server.operation.ResourceOperationJob.execute(ResourceOperationJob.java:88)
                    at org.quartz.core.JobRunShell.run(JobRunShell.java:203)
                    at org.quartz.simpl.SimpleThreadPool$WorkerThread.run(SimpleThreadPool.java:520)
                    * Nested Exception (Underlying Cause) ---------------
                    javax.ejb.EJBException: java.lang.NumberFormatException: null

                    at org.jboss.ejb3.tx.Ejb3TxPolicy.handleExceptionInOurTx(Ejb3TxPolicy.java:63)
                    ...

                    Caused by: java.lang.NumberFormatException: null
                    at java.lang.Integer.parseInt(Integer.java:415)
                    at java.lang.Integer.(Integer.java:620)
                    at org.quartz.JobDataMap.getIntFromString(JobDataMap.java:559)
                    at org.rhq.enterprise.server.operation.OperationManagerBean.getResourceOperationSchedule(OperationManagerBean.java:380)
                    at sun.reflect.NativeMethodAccessorImpl.invoke0(Native Method)
                    at sun.reflect.NativeMethodAccessorImpl.invoke(NativeMethodAccessorImpl.java:39)
                    ...

                    • 7. Re: ERROR invoking operation
                      mazz Master

                      Does the same thing happen when you try to invoke ANY operation on ANY resource?

                      • 8. Re: ERROR invoking operation
                        mazz Master

                        oh wait, when you said:

                        I re-download the binary package.
                        I re-generate the rhq.ear.


                        What did you mean? you can't download the GA distribution and then just build the rhq.ear inside of it. I would not be surprised if that doesn't work.

                        If you want to rebuild the ear, you'll want to rebuild the entire distribution too. Its easy. Just go to the source working copy on your box and:

                        mvn -Penterprise,dev -Ddbsetup -Dmaven.test.skip install

                        (the -Ddbsetup will erase the data in your database and rebuild the schema - if your database is postgres running on the same machine as where you are building and listening to port 5432 with the default rhq database and rhqadmin user, nothing has to be configured - otherwise, ~/.m2/settings.xml needs to be configured - see the RHQ build instructions wiki for more: http://support.rhq-project.org/display/RHQ/Building+RHQ)

                        This will result in <your working copy>/dev-container to contain the RHQ Server (with all the launcher scripts in the /bin directory that you need to start the server).

                        If you want the Jopr plugins to be deployed with it, just take the jopr plugins that are in a Jopr binary distribution (in the rhq-downloads/rhq-plugins) and put those .jar files in your dev-container's rhq.ear/rhq-downloads/rhq-plugins directory).

                        At this point, start up an agent fresh (there will be a newly build agent distro in your source working copy's modules/enterprise/agent/target/rhq-agent directory).

                        • 9. Re: ERROR invoking operation
                          De Smet Christophe Newbie

                          Indeed. On platforms, AS, DS... :(.

                          The error is throw then I'm redirected to the history operations page... where no in-progress nor completed operation are listed.

                          • 10. Re: ERROR invoking operation
                            De Smet Christophe Newbie

                             

                            you can't download the GA distribution and then just build the rhq.ear inside of it


                            It's the same version... but to avoid discussions, I will try what you said...

                            • 11. Re: ERROR invoking operation
                              De Smet Christophe Newbie

                              What I mean is that I :
                              1, undeploy rhq.ear
                              2, redeploy rhq.ear.rej from the fresh downloaded jopr-server (same version of course)
                              3, rerun installer - without overwiriting DB
                              4, restart jopr-server without any error

                              I havn't install a dev environment to build rhq as explained in http://support.rhq-project.org/display/RHQ/Building+RHQ

                              I work at now with downloaded binaries packages.

                              • 12. Re: ERROR invoking operation
                                mazz Master

                                I just downloaded the binaries, installed and ran. I was able to run the flush operation OK over here.

                                I'm thinking there is something not right with your install. I can't explain the error you are getting. Perhaps you should re-install with a fresh distro and start with a fresh, clean database?

                                • 13. Re: ERROR invoking operation
                                  De Smet Christophe Newbie

                                  upgrading to 2.2.0 solve this.

                                  • 14. Re: ERROR invoking operation
                                    Zachary Yadamec Newbie

                                    Its kind of odd

                                    I get teh error if I install 2.2.0 or 2.2.1 directly, but if i install 2.2.0 and upgrade to 2.2.1 the issue goes away. I have done this now 3 times (Dev Stage, and Prod)

                                    1 2 Previous Next