1 2 Previous Next 26 Replies Latest reply on Feb 12, 2009 9:39 AM by mazz

    error in jopr console

    sadat khan Newbie

      Hi there,
      I have 2 queries...

      1.)I am using jopr server and agent on my windows machine. I have
      jboss service running on my machine which is detected by the server and
      shown in the dashboard ( i have imported the resources ). However when I click on a managed resource like a machine or a server or a service to see it's health I get an exception thrown in the logs. The stack trace is attached.
      I am running win xp SP2 , and jopr server and agent 2.1.0... jdk
      and jre 1.5... jboss 4.2.3 GA
      What am I missing here ?

      2.) Do I necessarily need to use jboss AS plugin for jopr ?

      thanks a lot in advance for the time and help

      
      2009-02-10 11:29:01,936 ERROR [org.apache.catalina.core.ContainerBase.[jboss.web].[localhost].[/].[action]] Servlet.service() for servlet action threw exception
      java.lang.NoClassDefFoundError: org/rhq/enterprise/gui/legacy/action/resource/common/monitor/visibility/ResourceVisibilityPortalAction
       at java.lang.ClassLoader.defineClass1(Native Method)
       at java.lang.ClassLoader.defineClass(Unknown Source)
       at java.security.SecureClassLoader.defineClass(Unknown Source)
       at org.apache.catalina.loader.WebappClassLoader.findClassInternal(WebappClassLoader.java:1817)
       at org.apache.catalina.loader.WebappClassLoader.findClass(WebappClassLoader.java:872)
       at org.jboss.web.tomcat.service.WebAppClassLoader.findClass(WebAppClassLoader.java:139)
       at org.apache.catalina.loader.WebappClassLoader.loadClass(WebappClassLoader.java:1325)
       at org.apache.catalina.loader.WebappClassLoader.loadClass(WebappClassLoader.java:1204)
       at org.apache.struts.util.RequestUtils.applicationClass(RequestUtils.java:117)
       at org.apache.struts.util.RequestUtils.applicationInstance(RequestUtils.java:143)
       at org.apache.struts.action.RequestProcessor.processActionCreate(RequestProcessor.java:292)
       at org.apache.struts.action.RequestProcessor.process(RequestProcessor.java:230)
       at org.apache.struts.action.ActionServlet.process(ActionServlet.java:1196)
       at org.apache.struts.action.ActionServlet.doGet(ActionServlet.java:414)
       at javax.servlet.http.HttpServlet.service(HttpServlet.java:690)
       at javax.servlet.http.HttpServlet.service(HttpServlet.java:803)
       at org.apache.catalina.core.ApplicationFilterChain.internalDoFilter(ApplicationFilterChain.java:290)
       at org.apache.catalina.core.ApplicationFilterChain.doFilter(ApplicationFilterChain.java:206)
       at org.apache.catalina.core.ApplicationDispatcher.invoke(ApplicationDispatcher.java:687)
       at org.apache.catalina.core.ApplicationDispatcher.doInclude(ApplicationDispatcher.java:590)
       at org.apache.catalina.core.ApplicationDispatcher.include(ApplicationDispatcher.java:505)
       at org.apache.struts.tiles.UrlController.execute(UrlController.java:89)
       at org.apache.struts.tiles.TilesRequestProcessor.processTilesDefinition(TilesRequestProcessor.java:219)
       at org.apache.struts.tiles.TilesRequestProcessor.internalModuleRelativeForward(TilesRequestProcessor.java:341)
       at org.apache.struts.action.RequestProcessor.processForward(RequestProcessor.java:572)
       at org.apache.struts.action.RequestProcessor.process(RequestProcessor.java:221)
       at org.apache.struts.action.ActionServlet.process(ActionServlet.java:1196)
       at org.apache.struts.action.ActionServlet.doGet(ActionServlet.java:414)
       at javax.servlet.http.HttpServlet.service(HttpServlet.java:690)
       at javax.servlet.http.HttpServlet.service(HttpServlet.java:803)
       at org.apache.catalina.core.ApplicationFilterChain.internalDoFilter(ApplicationFilterChain.java:290)
       at org.apache.catalina.core.ApplicationFilterChain.doFilter(ApplicationFilterChain.java:206)
       at org.rhq.enterprise.gui.legacy.AuthenticationFilter.doFilter(AuthenticationFilter.java:128)
       at org.apache.catalina.core.ApplicationFilterChain.internalDoFilter(ApplicationFilterChain.java:235)
       at org.apache.catalina.core.ApplicationFilterChain.doFilter(ApplicationFilterChain.java:206)
       at org.rhq.helpers.rtfilter.filter.RtFilter.doFilter(RtFilter.java:113)
       at org.apache.catalina.core.ApplicationFilterChain.internalDoFilter(ApplicationFilterChain.java:235)
       at org.apache.catalina.core.ApplicationFilterChain.doFilter(ApplicationFilterChain.java:206)
       at org.jboss.web.tomcat.filters.ReplyHeaderFilter.doFilter(ReplyHeaderFilter.java:96)
       at org.apache.catalina.core.ApplicationFilterChain.internalDoFilter(ApplicationFilterChain.java:235)
       at org.apache.catalina.core.ApplicationFilterChain.doFilter(ApplicationFilterChain.java:206)
       at org.apache.catalina.core.StandardWrapperValve.invoke(StandardWrapperValve.java:230)
       at org.apache.catalina.core.StandardContextValve.invoke(StandardContextValve.java:175)
       at org.jboss.web.tomcat.security.SecurityAssociationValve.invoke(SecurityAssociationValve.java:179)
       at org.jboss.web.tomcat.security.JaccContextValve.invoke(JaccContextValve.java:84)
       at org.apache.catalina.core.StandardHostValve.invoke(StandardHostValve.java:128)
       at org.apache.catalina.valves.ErrorReportValve.invoke(ErrorReportValve.java:104)
       at org.jboss.web.tomcat.service.jca.CachedConnectionValve.invoke(CachedConnectionValve.java:157)
       at org.apache.catalina.core.StandardEngineValve.invoke(StandardEngineValve.java:109)
       at org.apache.catalina.connector.CoyoteAdapter.service(CoyoteAdapter.java:241)
       at org.apache.coyote.http11.Http11Processor.process(Http11Processor.java:844)
       at org.apache.coyote.http11.Http11Protocol$Http11ConnectionHandler.process(Http11Protocol.java:580)
       at org.apache.tomcat.util.net.JIoEndpoint$Worker.run(JIoEndpoint.java:447)
       at java.lang.Thread.run(Unknown Source)
      2009-02-10 11:29:02,029 DEBUG [org.rhq.helpers.rtfilter.filter.RtFilter] Request to [/resource/common/monitor/Visibility.do?id=500050&mode=currentHealth] took 375 ms
      2009-02-10 11:29:02,029 ERROR [org.apache.catalina.core.ContainerBase.[jboss.web].[localhost].[/].[action]] Servlet.service() for servlet action threw exception
      java.lang.NoClassDefFoundError: org/rhq/enterprise/gui/legacy/action/resource/common/monitor/visibility/ResourceVisibilityPortalAction
       at java.lang.ClassLoader.defineClass1(Native Method)
       at java.lang.ClassLoader.defineClass(Unknown Source)
       at java.security.SecureClassLoader.defineClass(Unknown Source)
       at org.apache.catalina.loader.WebappClassLoader.findClassInternal(WebappClassLoader.java:1817)
       at org.apache.catalina.loader.WebappClassLoader.findClass(WebappClassLoader.java:872)
       at org.jboss.web.tomcat.service.WebAppClassLoader.findClass(WebAppClassLoader.java:139)
       at org.apache.catalina.loader.WebappClassLoader.loadClass(WebappClassLoader.java:1325)
       at org.apache.catalina.loader.WebappClassLoader.loadClass(WebappClassLoader.java:1204)
       at org.apache.struts.util.RequestUtils.applicationClass(RequestUtils.java:117)
       at org.apache.struts.util.RequestUtils.applicationInstance(RequestUtils.java:143)
       at org.apache.struts.action.RequestProcessor.processActionCreate(RequestProcessor.java:292)
       at org.apache.struts.action.RequestProcessor.process(RequestProcessor.java:230)
       at org.apache.struts.action.ActionServlet.process(ActionServlet.java:1196)
       at org.apache.struts.action.ActionServlet.doGet(ActionServlet.java:414)
       at javax.servlet.http.HttpServlet.service(HttpServlet.java:690)
       at javax.servlet.http.HttpServlet.service(HttpServlet.java:803)
       at org.apache.catalina.core.ApplicationFilterChain.internalDoFilter(ApplicationFilterChain.java:290)
       at org.apache.catalina.core.ApplicationFilterChain.doFilter(ApplicationFilterChain.java:206)
       at org.apache.catalina.core.ApplicationDispatcher.invoke(ApplicationDispatcher.java:687)
       at org.apache.catalina.core.ApplicationDispatcher.doInclude(ApplicationDispatcher.java:590)
       at org.apache.catalina.core.ApplicationDispatcher.include(ApplicationDispatcher.java:505)
       at org.apache.struts.tiles.UrlController.execute(UrlController.java:89)
       at org.apache.struts.tiles.TilesRequestProcessor.processTilesDefinition(TilesRequestProcessor.java:219)
       at org.apache.struts.tiles.TilesRequestProcessor.internalModuleRelativeForward(TilesRequestProcessor.java:341)
       at org.apache.struts.action.RequestProcessor.processForward(RequestProcessor.java:572)
       at org.apache.struts.action.RequestProcessor.process(RequestProcessor.java:221)
       at org.apache.struts.action.ActionServlet.process(ActionServlet.java:1196)
       at org.apache.struts.action.ActionServlet.doGet(ActionServlet.java:414)
       at javax.servlet.http.HttpServlet.service(HttpServlet.java:690)
       at javax.servlet.http.HttpServlet.service(HttpServlet.java:803)
       at org.apache.catalina.core.ApplicationFilterChain.internalDoFilter(ApplicationFilterChain.java:290)
       at org.apache.catalina.core.ApplicationFilterChain.doFilter(ApplicationFilterChain.java:206)
       at org.rhq.enterprise.gui.legacy.AuthenticationFilter.doFilter(AuthenticationFilter.java:128)
       at org.apache.catalina.core.ApplicationFilterChain.internalDoFilter(ApplicationFilterChain.java:235)
       at org.apache.catalina.core.ApplicationFilterChain.doFilter(ApplicationFilterChain.java:206)
       at org.rhq.helpers.rtfilter.filter.RtFilter.doFilter(RtFilter.java:113)
       at org.apache.catalina.core.ApplicationFilterChain.internalDoFilter(ApplicationFilterChain.java:235)
       at org.apache.catalina.core.ApplicationFilterChain.doFilter(ApplicationFilterChain.java:206)
       at org.jboss.web.tomcat.filters.ReplyHeaderFilter.doFilter(ReplyHeaderFilter.java:96)
       at org.apache.catalina.core.ApplicationFilterChain.internalDoFilter(ApplicationFilterChain.java:235)
       at org.apache.catalina.core.ApplicationFilterChain.doFilter(ApplicationFilterChain.java:206)
       at org.apache.catalina.core.StandardWrapperValve.invoke(StandardWrapperValve.java:230)
       at org.apache.catalina.core.StandardContextValve.invoke(StandardContextValve.java:175)
       at org.jboss.web.tomcat.security.SecurityAssociationValve.invoke(SecurityAssociationValve.java:179)
       at org.jboss.web.tomcat.security.JaccContextValve.invoke(JaccContextValve.java:84)
       at org.apache.catalina.core.StandardHostValve.invoke(StandardHostValve.java:128)
       at org.apache.catalina.valves.ErrorReportValve.invoke(ErrorReportValve.java:104)
       at org.jboss.web.tomcat.service.jca.CachedConnectionValve.invoke(CachedConnectionValve.java:157)
       at org.apache.catalina.core.StandardEngineValve.invoke(StandardEngineValve.java:109)
       at org.apache.catalina.connector.CoyoteAdapter.service(CoyoteAdapter.java:241)
       at org.apache.coyote.http11.Http11Processor.process(Http11Processor.java:844)
       at org.apache.coyote.http11.Http11Protocol$Http11ConnectionHandler.process(Http11Protocol.java:580)
       at org.apache.tomcat.util.net.JIoEndpoint$Worker.run(JIoEndpoint.java:447)
       at java.lang.Thread.run(Unknown Source)
      
      



      regards

        • 1. Re: error in jopr console
          mazz Master

          First, you do not have to use the jboss plugin. I mentioned this earlier in another forum thread, the ONLY plugin you are required to use is the platform plugin. All the others are optional. You only need them if you want to manage the servers those plugins handle - if you do not want to manage JBossAS instances, you don't need the jboss plugin.

          There is no way to remove plugins from the system if they have already been deployed (search this forum for the related thread on this - we recently discussed this).

          But, if you know you do not want to use the jboss plugin, then after you unzip the distribution, but before you run the server, go into jbossas/server/default/deploy/rhq.ear(.rej)/rhq-downloads/rhq-plugins and remove those plugins you do not want to use. Again, remember you must use the platform plugin - that one is required.

          As for this exception, I don't know what's going on. We're getting some people saying they see NoClassDefFoundExceptions - which I can't explain. I wonder if something is wrong with the download site and its corrupting the downloads. Someone on an earlier thread said they redownloaded the distribution and the class-def errors went away.

          • 2. Re: error in jopr console
            sadat khan Newbie

            thanks Mazz for your help... sorry for not seeing the discussion regarding the plugin removal... i have now seen that thread...
            as you said, i too think that the download was probably corrupt because of which that class went missing.... i will re-download and see...
            one last question i have is that is the jboss AS plugin which comes bundled with jopr 2.1 compliant with jboss 4.2.3 GA ?

            thanks again for your help...

            • 3. Re: error in jopr console
              mazz Master

              Yes, the jboss plugin will work with JBossAS 4.2.3.

              Let us know if your download was corrupted - if it turns out it was, we need to figure out what's wrong with the download site.

              • 4. Re: error in jopr console
                sadat khan Newbie

                ya sure i will let you know... but before that i want to confirm that i need to re download the jopr server and not the agent... right ?

                • 5. Re: error in jopr console
                  mazz Master

                  Yeah, this is a problem in the server - you want to download that.

                  • 6. Re: error in jopr console
                    sadat khan Newbie

                    before proceeding for a fresh download i just checked my present one and i do find that class which is not being found, in the server... ( at this path
                    $JOPR_SERVER_HOME\jbossas\server\default\deploy\rhq.ear.rej\rhq-portal.war\WEB-INF\classes\org\rhq\enterprise\gui\legacy\action\resource\common\monitor\visibility)...
                    do i still go for a fresh download or is the problem somewhere else ?

                    • 7. Re: error in jopr console
                      mazz Master

                      In "rhq.ear.rej" ???

                      That rhq.ear.rej should not be there. After you ran the installer webapp, that should have been renamed to rhq.ear.

                      Do you have two ears in here??? rhq.ear and rhq.ear.rej?

                      • 8. Re: error in jopr console
                        mazz Master

                        I suspect your install is corrupted somehow. You should have not have a rhq.ear.rej at all if you were able to access the main Jopr UI.

                        I would uninstall and re-install.

                        • 9. Re: error in jopr console
                          sadat khan Newbie

                          oh... sorry for the confusion... i am currently hooked onto my personal laptop on which i just downloaded the server and agent but haven't installed them... that is why, as you said, it remains .rej... i have installed them on my office pc... but yes i did find one thing... i tried to open that class file with a decompiler and it gave a class corrupt error... could that be the culprit ?
                          anyways i will confirm the ear part tomorrow from office as well as probably re-download the server....
                          after downloading the server can i just replace those class files instead of reinstalling the server from scratch ?...
                          and yes thanks a lot for your help ...

                          • 10. Re: error in jopr console
                            mazz Master

                            What version of Java are you using?

                            We only support 1.5 and 1.6. If you have 1.4, that's no good.

                            Is it a SUN VM or another vendor?

                            • 11. Re: error in jopr console
                              mazz Master

                              FYI: I just downloaded the binaries and ran them - things work OK here.

                              • 12. Re: error in jopr console
                                sadat khan Newbie

                                i am using java 1.5 and it is the sun jvm... let me re-download the server binaries and see if i can go ahead w/o problems...

                                • 13. Re: error in jopr console
                                  sadat khan Newbie

                                  found the problem... what happened was that the names of some classes got truncated leading to them not being found... like the one in the stacktrace i attached and others too... this could probably have happened during installation of the server... anyways i renamed them correctly and now the noclassdef error has gone... thanks mazz for your help...

                                  • 14. Re: error in jopr console
                                    mazz Master

                                    Argh! Are you on Windows?! We've seen this kind of thing. Sorry I didn't think of it earlier.

                                    We even document this in our install docs :-}

                                    In the big red box:

                                    https://docs.jbosson.redhat.com/confluence/display/JON2/d.+JON+Server+Installation+Guide

                                    "Windows Installation

                                    On Windows, do not install the JON Server into a directory with a path longer than 19 characters (e.g. use C:\Program Files\ rather than C:\Documents and Settings\myusername\ ). Excessively long pathnames may result, causing errors during execution of the server."

                                    1 2 Previous Next