1 2 Previous Next 18 Replies Latest reply on Aug 23, 2007 9:10 AM by Ilya Shaikovsky

    Submit problem within subtable

    Daniel Ray Newbie

      I have an <a4j:commandButton> within a subtable that is not calling the assigned action. I get the same behavior when trying to use a standard commandLink as well. Is this a known issue or is there another thread that addresses this issue? I see no errors on the server side nor any via a messages tag. Many thanks.

      <rich:datatable ...>

      <rich:subtable ...>

      <rich:column>

      <a4j:commandButton ... />

      ...

        • 1. Re: Submit problem within subtable
          Sergey Smirnov Master

          what phases jsf lifecycle passed?

          You can use http://www.jsftutorials.net/faces-config/phaseTracker.html to monitor this.

          • 2. Re: Submit problem within subtable
            Daniel Ray Newbie

            11 Jul 07 13:50:29, ERROR [http-0.0.0.0-8080-1] util.LoggerStream (LoggerStream.java:152) - Jul 11, 2007 1:50:29 PM org.exadel.jsf.PhaseTracker beforePhase
            INFO: BEFORE RESTORE_VIEW(1)
            11 Jul 07 13:50:29, ERROR [http-0.0.0.0-8080-1] util.LoggerStream (LoggerStream.java:152) - Jul 11, 2007 1:50:29 PM org.exadel.jsf.PhaseTracker afterPhase
            INFO: AFTER RESTORE_VIEW(1)
            11 Jul 07 13:50:29, ERROR [http-0.0.0.0-8080-1] util.LoggerStream (LoggerStream.java:152) - Jul 11, 2007 1:50:29 PM org.exadel.jsf.PhaseTracker beforePhase
            INFO: BEFORE APPLY_REQUEST_VALUES(2)
            11 Jul 07 13:50:29, ERROR [http-0.0.0.0-8080-1] util.LoggerStream (LoggerStream.java:152) - Jul 11, 2007 1:50:29 PM org.exadel.jsf.PhaseTracker afterPhase
            INFO: AFTER APPLY_REQUEST_VALUES(2)
            11 Jul 07 13:50:29, ERROR [http-0.0.0.0-8080-1] util.LoggerStream (LoggerStream.java:152) - Jul 11, 2007 1:50:29 PM org.exadel.jsf.PhaseTracker beforePhase
            INFO: BEFORE PROCESS_VALIDATIONS(3)
            11 Jul 07 13:50:29, ERROR [http-0.0.0.0-8080-1] util.LoggerStream (LoggerStream.java:152) - Jul 11, 2007 1:50:29 PM org.exadel.jsf.PhaseTracker afterPhase
            INFO: AFTER PROCESS_VALIDATIONS(3)
            11 Jul 07 13:50:29, ERROR [http-0.0.0.0-8080-1] util.LoggerStream (LoggerStream.java:152) - Jul 11, 2007 1:50:29 PM org.exadel.jsf.PhaseTracker beforePhase
            INFO: BEFORE UPDATE_MODEL_VALUES(4)
            11 Jul 07 13:50:29, ERROR [http-0.0.0.0-8080-1] util.LoggerStream (LoggerStream.java:152) - Jul 11, 2007 1:50:29 PM org.exadel.jsf.PhaseTracker afterPhase
            INFO: AFTER UPDATE_MODEL_VALUES(4)
            11 Jul 07 13:50:29, ERROR [http-0.0.0.0-8080-1] util.LoggerStream (LoggerStream.java:152) - Jul 11, 2007 1:50:29 PM org.exadel.jsf.PhaseTracker beforePhase
            INFO: BEFORE INVOKE_APPLICATION(5)
            11 Jul 07 13:50:29, ERROR [http-0.0.0.0-8080-1] util.LoggerStream (LoggerStream.java:152) - Jul 11, 2007 1:50:29 PM org.exadel.jsf.PhaseTracker afterPhase
            INFO: AFTER INVOKE_APPLICATION(5)
            11 Jul 07 13:50:29, ERROR [http-0.0.0.0-8080-1] util.LoggerStream (LoggerStream.java:152) - Jul 11, 2007 1:50:29 PM org.exadel.jsf.PhaseTracker beforePhase
            INFO: BEFORE RENDER_RESPONSE(6)
            11 Jul 07 13:50:30, ERROR [http-0.0.0.0-8080-1] util.LoggerStream (LoggerStream.java:152) - Jul 11, 2007 1:50:30 PM org.exadel.jsf.PhaseTracker afterPhase
            INFO: AFTER RENDER_RESPONSE(6)

            • 3. Re: Submit problem within subtable
              Sergey Smirnov Master

              lifecycle is OK.
              Show more code you have of the page.

              • 4. Re: Submit problem within subtable
                Daniel Ray Newbie

                Here's the page fragment. It is included in another page via <jsp:include...>. The offending line is in the subtable.

                <a4j:commandLink value="#{review.member.penName}" action="#{PORTFOLIO.selectReview}" />

                The action in the datatable works just fine.


                <%@ taglib uri="http://java.sun.com/jsf/core" prefix="f"%>
                <%@ taglib uri="http://myfaces.apache.org/tomahawk" prefix="t"%>
                <%@ taglib uri="http://richfaces.ajax4jsf.org/rich" prefix="rich"%>
                <%@ taglib uri="https://ajax4jsf.dev.java.net/ajax" prefix="a4j"%>

                <rich:dataTable value="#{PORTFOLIO.storyList}" var="story">

                <f:facet name="header">
                <rich:columnGroup>
                <rich:column colspan="8">
                <t:outputText value="Story Information" />
                </rich:column>
                <rich:column breakBefore="true">
                <t:outputText value="Date" />
                </rich:column>
                <rich:column>
                <t:outputText value = "Reviewed By" />
                </rich:column>
                <rich:column>
                <t:outputText value="Audience" />
                </rich:column>
                <rich:column>
                <t:outputText value="Genre" />
                </rich:column>
                <rich:column>
                <t:outputText value="Type" />
                </rich:column>
                <rich:column>
                <t:outputText value="Status" />
                </rich:column>
                <rich:column>
                <t:outputText value="Create Date" />
                </rich:column>
                <rich:column>
                <t:outputText value="Last Updated" />
                </rich:column>
                </rich:columnGroup>
                </f:facet>

                <rich:column colspan="8">
                <a4j:commandLink value="Update" action="#{PORTFOLIO.selectStory}">
                <a4j:actionparam name="storyId" value="#{story.id}" assignTo="#{PORTFOLIO.selectedStoryId}" />
                </a4j:commandLink>
                <t:outputText value="#{story.title}" />
                </rich:column>

                <rich:column colspan="2" breakBefore="true" >
                <t:outputText value="Not Yet Reviewed" rendered="#{(story.reviewCount < 1)}" />
                <a4j:commandLink value="Details" rendered="#{(story.reviewCount > 0)}" action="#{PORTFOLIO.selectStory}">
                <a4j:actionparam name="storyId" value="#{story.id}" assignTo="#{PORTFOLIO.selectedStoryId}" />
                </a4j:commandLink>
                </rich:column>

                <rich:column>
                <t:outputText value="#{story.storyAudience.name}" />
                </rich:column>

                <rich:column>
                <t:outputText value="#{story.storyGenre.name}" />
                </rich:column>

                <rich:column>
                <t:outputText value="#{story.storyType.name}" />
                </rich:column>

                <rich:column>
                <t:outputText value="#{story.storyStatus.name}" />
                </rich:column>

                <rich:column>
                <t:outputText value="#{story.createDate}" />
                </rich:column>

                <rich:column>
                <t:outputText value="#{story.lastUpdated}" />
                </rich:column>

                <rich:subTable value="#{story.reviewList}" var="review" rendered="#{(story.id == PORTFOLIO.selectedStoryId)}">

                <rich:column>
                <t:outputText value="#{review.createDate}" />
                </rich:column>

                <rich:column>
                <a4j:commandLink value="#{review.member.penName}" action="#{PORTFOLIO.selectStory}" />
                </rich:column>

                <rich:column colspan="6">
                <rich:spacer height="1" width="1" />
                </rich:column>

                </rich:subTable>

                <rich:column colspan="8">
                <rich:spacer height="12" width="1" />
                </rich:column>

                </rich:dataTable>

                • 5. Re: Submit problem within subtable
                  Sergey Smirnov Master

                   

                  "budoray" wrote:

                  .....
                  <rich:subTable value="#{story.reviewList}" var="review" rendered="#{(story.id == PORTFOLIO.selectedStoryId)}">
                  .....


                  This might be a source of problem. if value of 'rendered' evaluates as a false at the beginning of the second phase, jsf will not process the link.
                  What are the scopes for store and PORTFOLIO

                  • 6. Re: Submit problem within subtable
                    Daniel Ray Newbie

                    I removed the rendered attribute from the subtable and I still have the same result. I'm befuddled. The lifecycle runs just fine, but the action is never called nor is the assignTo of the actionparam called.

                    • 7. Re: Submit problem within subtable
                      Daniel Ray Newbie

                      PORTFOLIO is a session scoped managed-bean. It contains the storyList (list of Story objects) for the datatable. The Story contains a reviewList (List of Review objects) for the subtable. Neither Story nor Review is a managed-bean.

                      • 8. Re: Submit problem within subtable
                        Sergey Smirnov Master

                        if avoiding the 'rendered' does not help, the scopes do not make sense

                        • 9. Re: Submit problem within subtable
                          Sergey Smirnov Master

                          what the version of Ajax4jsf do you use?

                          • 10. Re: Submit problem within subtable
                            Daniel Ray Newbie

                            My first submission was with richfaces-3.0.1.jar and ajax4jsf-1.1.1.jar.

                            I downloaded the latest snapshots of each and tried them as well. Same issue.

                            • 11. Re: Submit problem within subtable
                              Daniel Ray Newbie

                              I was using the 1.1.1 with richfaces 3.0.1. I have tried this with the latest snapshots from cvs to no avail.

                              Here's a test example:

                              <managed-bean>
                              <managed-bean-name>PRODUCE</managed-bean-name>
                              <managed-bean-class>com.Produce</managed-bean-class>
                              <managed-bean-scope>session</managed-bean-scope>
                              </managed-bean>

                              • 12. Re: Submit problem within subtable
                                Daniel Ray Newbie

                                I was using the 1.1.1 with richfaces 3.0.1. I have tried this with the latest snapshots from cvs to no avail.

                                Here's a test example:

                                <managed-bean>
                                 <managed-bean-name>PRODUCE</managed-bean-name>
                                 <managed-bean-class>com.Produce</managed-bean-class>
                                 <managed-bean-scope>session</managed-bean-scope>
                                </managed-bean>
                                
                                package com;
                                
                                public class Apple {
                                 private int id;
                                 private String name;
                                
                                 public Apple(){
                                
                                 }
                                
                                 public int getId() {
                                 return id;
                                 }
                                
                                 public void setId(int id) {
                                 this.id = id;
                                 }
                                
                                 public String getName() {
                                 return name;
                                 }
                                
                                 public void setName(String name) {
                                 this.name = name;
                                 }
                                
                                }
                                
                                package com;
                                
                                import java.util.ArrayList;
                                import java.util.List;
                                
                                import com.Apple;
                                
                                public class Fruit{
                                 private String id;
                                 private String name;
                                
                                 private List<Apple> appleList;
                                
                                 public Fruit(){
                                 appleList = new ArrayList<Apple>();
                                
                                 populate();
                                 }
                                
                                 private void populate(){
                                 for(int i=0; i<5; i++){
                                 Apple apple = new Apple();
                                 apple.setId(i * 100);
                                 apple.setName("Apple Type " + i);
                                
                                 appleList.add(apple);
                                 }
                                 }
                                
                                 public String getId() {
                                 return id;
                                 }
                                
                                 public void setId(String id) {
                                 this.id = id;
                                 }
                                
                                 public String getName() {
                                 return name;
                                 }
                                
                                 public void setName(String name) {
                                 this.name = name;
                                 }
                                
                                 public List<Apple> getAppleList() {
                                 return appleList;
                                 }
                                
                                }
                                
                                package com;
                                
                                import java.util.ArrayList;
                                import java.util.List;
                                
                                public class Produce {
                                 private List<Fruit> fruitList;
                                
                                 private String selectedAppleId;
                                
                                 public Produce(){
                                 fruitList = new ArrayList<Fruit>();
                                 selectedAppleId = "0";
                                 populate();
                                 }
                                
                                 private void populate(){
                                 for(int i=0; i<5; i++){
                                 Fruit fruit = new Fruit();
                                 fruit.setId("" + i * 10);
                                 fruit.setName("Apple");
                                
                                 fruitList.add(fruit);
                                 }
                                 }
                                
                                 public String selectApple(){
                                 System.out.println("Selected Apple Id: " + selectedAppleId);
                                
                                 return "";
                                 }
                                
                                 public List<Fruit> getFruitList() {
                                 return fruitList;
                                 }
                                
                                 public void setSelectedAppleId(String selectedAppleId) {
                                 this.selectedAppleId = selectedAppleId;
                                 }
                                
                                }
                                
                                <%@ page session="false" contentType="text/html;charset=utf-8"%>
                                
                                <%@ taglib uri="http://java.sun.com/jsf/core" prefix="f"%>
                                <%@ taglib uri="http://java.sun.com/jsf/html" prefix="h"%>
                                <%@ taglib uri="http://myfaces.apache.org/tomahawk" prefix="t"%>
                                <%@ taglib uri="http://richfaces.ajax4jsf.org/rich" prefix="rich"%>
                                <%@ taglib uri="https://ajax4jsf.dev.java.net/ajax" prefix="a4j"%>
                                
                                <html>
                                
                                 <f:view>
                                
                                 <t:documentHead>
                                 <meta HTTP-EQUIV="Content-Type" CONTENT="text/html;charset=UTF-8">
                                 </t:documentHead>
                                
                                 <t:documentBody>
                                
                                 <h:form id="produce_form">
                                
                                 <rich:dataTable id="produce_list" value="#{PRODUCE.fruitList}"
                                 var="fruit">
                                
                                 <f:facet name="header">
                                 <rich:columnGroup>
                                 <rich:column>
                                 <t:outputText value="Fruit Id" />
                                 </rich:column>
                                 <rich:column>
                                 <t:outputText value="Fruit Name" />
                                 </rich:column>
                                 </rich:columnGroup>
                                 </f:facet>
                                
                                 <rich:column id="fruit_id_column">
                                 <t:outputText value="#{fruit.id}" />
                                 </rich:column>
                                
                                 <rich:column id="fruit_id_name">
                                 <t:outputText value="#{fruit.name}" />
                                 </rich:column>
                                
                                 <rich:subTable value="#{fruit.appleList}" var="apple">
                                
                                 <rich:column>
                                 <t:outputText value="" />
                                 </rich:column>
                                
                                 <rich:column>
                                 <a4j:commandLink value="#{apple.name}" action="#{PRODUCE.selectApple}">
                                 <a4j:actionparam name="appleId" value="#{apple.id}" assignTo="#{PRODUCE.selectedAppleId}" />
                                 </a4j:commandLink>
                                 </rich:column>
                                
                                 </rich:subTable>
                                
                                 </rich:dataTable>
                                
                                 </h:form>
                                
                                 </t:documentBody>
                                
                                 </f:view>
                                
                                </html>
                                
                                
                                


                                • 13. Re: Submit problem within subtable
                                  Daniel Ray Newbie

                                  I dug a little deeper and found this was reported by mladen.babic on 07-01-07.

                                  • 14. Re: Submit problem within subtable
                                    Daniel Ray Newbie

                                    My workaround is to add an additional column with breakBefore = true followed by another column with colspan spanning the remaining columns and nesting another datatable in this column, which by the way, gives me the ability to add headers.

                                    <rich:column breakBefore="true">
                                     <t:outputText />
                                    </rich:column>
                                    
                                    <rich:column>
                                     <rich:dataTable id="fruit_list" value="#{fruit.appleList}" var="apple">
                                     <rich:column id="fruit_name_column">
                                     <a4j:commandLink value="#{apple.name}" action="#{PRODUCE.selectApple}">
                                     <a4j:actionparam name="appleId" value="#{apple.id}" assignTo="#{PRODUCE.selectedAppleId}" />
                                     </a4j:commandLink>
                                     </rich:column>
                                     </rich:dataTable>
                                    </rich:column>
                                    


                                    1 2 Previous Next