1 2 Previous Next 26 Replies Latest reply on Dec 4, 2013 11:32 AM by patrickawilson

External JMS Reference - How?

patrickawilson

I am very new to Switchyard and having a tough time trying to figure out how to configure and code for an external JMS reference.  My project is, at the moment, a simple one.  XML data as defined by a WSDL comes into the composite.  A JAXB transformation takes place and the resulting Java object is routed to a bean.  A byte array is then extracted from that Java object.  This part is working.

Next I want to but the byte array onto an external JMS queue.  I am very familiar with JMS.  If it was just Java I would create a connection, session,and queue client reference and put the message onto the queue.But how to do that in Switchyard?

In the Switchyard design palette I have created a reference on the bean. 

I have promoted the reference.

I have added a JMS binding to it.

So here I am in the CDI Bean with a java object that I want to put on an external queue.  How does one go about doing that?

I know that the @Reference gets used somehow but I have not yet managed to figure out how to tie it all together,

Thanks,.

• 1. Re: External JMS Reference - How?
          rcernich

Hey Patrick,

You might want to look at one of the jca-outbound-* quickstarts.  The do not use JMS for their reference bindings, but they do show how you would go about wiring up your application.